Home » family » A Snowy Sunday

A Snowy Sunday

Image

You can just barely see the tiny leaf buds forming on this Elm tree

This is my world.  Snow covered sidewalks, and a hazy sky, with a sun that almost passes for an early moon.  I could choose to hunker down under a duvet with my current reading choice, ‘Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel’ (the pups warming my toes that are chilled, even though, I am wearing thick wool socks) but, this weather system has changed my typical, childless weekend plans.

My children, are home, for the first time in six weekends. My house is alive with the sound of sibling battles, crummy kitchen counters and raucous indoor tug of war games, played with the pups.  The estranged one couldnโ€™t make it back to town on the icy highways. Accidents stopping vehicles, in lengthy kilometre long jams, for those who decided, that they must get back to the city, as though in their rush, they could beat the oncoming storm.

Image

Yet, this storm has not bothered me in the way that it wouldโ€™ve in earlier years.  I have little conflict to labour through in my life currently.  It is not to say that I have no pressing life challenges- itโ€™s just that my anxiety over which direction my life will take, has for the moment, somewhat abated.

My middle child, who has Autism, has had some difficulty in adjusting to this weather.  He is mostly distressed, that his plan to put away his winter coat for the year, (as spring is set to arrive next week by calendar, anyway) has been thwarted by this fresh dump of snow.  He has railed over the logic of snow in the spring. By his account, the below seasonal temperatures are signaling something sinister.  He has read the Farmer’s Almanac in a way that would suggest, he will be tested on his knowledge of its contents.  He is also lamenting over the cool and dry summer that our region is predicted to have. Only this morning, did he finally concede, that the snow will eventually melt, and that Global Warming will not turn our region into an ice-covered mass. Thankfully, he has yet to take up reading scientific papers on the subject, as I fear that his anxiety over predicted cooling trends, would cause his obsession with weather to go haywire.

This morning, my youngest child and I,  pulled on our winters warmest clothing; snow-pants, toques and all- and went for a walk.  With the freshly covered snow (nearly 20 cm, or 8 inches, for my American readers) blanketing the ground- which only a few days ago, was starting to lay naked, in brownish grass- things seem strangely, to have freshened up.  The advantage to this snow, is that my yard, again, looks clean.  I no longer have to be bothered by the need to keep up my annual, post snow, dog poop clean up (until next week anyways).  This is the respite that Mother Nature sometimes gifts us Northerners with.

We returned home with rosy cheeks, snow filled boots and a fresh perspective.  I have just set the oven to pre-heat and am planning on making some comfort food for dinner. The kids are sitting by the fireplace, contemplating a movie choice; with only occasional rows erupting over who gets to take the prime hot spot.

Life is quiet right now, and that is okay – I kind of enjoy it.  There can be many blessings in a late winter storm.

Image

8 thoughts on “A Snowy Sunday

  1. It is snowing here now. I am watching fat lazy snow flakes line themselves up on the oak branches outside my window. The unnavigable roads closed the schools. My own children weren’t entirely sure the cold was worth the effort to find their spare boots and snow pants and required quite a bit of cajoling.

    I mustn’t tarry long else they revolt by getting themselves in the cabinet and choosing their own food selections for an evening meal.

    Mud season is on hiatus while the ground refreezes like last night’s leftover casserole which was hastily fit into the ice box. So I too am happy for the reprieve from the long list of outdoor projects that had thawed out the week prior. (Which with 2 large dogs of my own, was looking a little daunting!) I do love winter and all it brings, and for a brief moment the puddles in front of the pellet stove hold the entire season in a deep breath before the march of buds forges us into a scented spring.

    Thanks for reminding me to take a break and enjoy it.

    Also, Narnia didn’t happen to be just beyond that lamp post did it? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Stay warm.

    • I was so focused on the snow in Western Canada, that I hadn’t thought about it occurring anywhere else- a little wrapped up in my world, I suppose ๐Ÿ˜‰
      We rarely have, ‘Snow Days’ here, at least not in the city. My kids would’ve loved a break from school though. With Spring Break just around the corner, I need to rethink our plans, as most of them involved snow free activities.

      My children often forage for their evening meal…. well, at least the teens do, if they are unhappy with what I am cooking. I have some burgeoning vegetarians here, so it is often only when I am cooking meat, that they are looking for alternatives.

      Happily, there are no muddy paws to wipe at my house right now, and it’ll be a while yet before I have to dig through my storage room to find the kids rain boots ( well, at least for the littlest one as the teenagers would never willingly leave the house with rubber on their feet).

      ” I do love winter and all it brings, and for a brief moment the puddles in front of the pellet stove hold the entire season in a deep breath before the march of buds forges us into a scented spring.” I loved the imagery in this bit. Although, I know that we are still six weeks (at least) away from blooming trees…there is, however, the aroma of melting piles of doggy doo to look forward to.

      I may have to walk back out to the light post tomorrow. Perhaps, it’s the warmth of a fur lined closet, scented with mothballs, that I have been missing all these years. Maybe, I just need to find my way back home…

  2. your post has inspired me to make a concerted effort to stop feeling sorry for myself and cursing our choice to live here in this winter-ridden place, to recognize that it is a CHOICE and to warm my heart in the knowledge that I am surrounded in this cold place by amazing friends and forgiving family…so thank you for shaking my snow covered heart into warmth

    • If I had a lengthy commute to make during the week, I may have a different feeling around this weather. While dropping one of my children off this morning and taking an uncontrolled spinout at a yield sign, I thought about previous years, when I had to drive children for hours each day, on icy, snowy coated roads – sometimes doing no more than 40km per hour for the entire drive.

      Spring is coming, I swear it. Although, last night, my middlest boy was still quite concerned over the steadily falling flakes, and said, “What if, this year, spring and summer don’t come?”

      Until warmer weather arrives, we’ll have to get together, and warm ourselves over some piping hot lattes.

  3. Love this, there is sort of feeling here, echoed by the snow, of things being muffled, or maybe muted is a better word. Like you say the challenges are still there but for the moment you are…OK. For me some of my current challenges have forced me to live by the day and there is a weird sort of contentment in it and this piece sort of echoes that. I like hearing of your middle child and his concerns too. Lovely piece. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It is still snowing this morning, perhaps we shall literally be muted under a large snowdrift by this evening ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      It is a gift to be forced to live in the moment. I find that the majority of my anxiety arises when I allow my mind to race forward or drift backward towards thoughts, that keep me from staying present. I am learning that peace is not just the absence of war (whether inner or outer) but rather, a state of acceptance and forgiveness.

      I am so glad that you stopped in. Thank you for your kind comment- you warmed my heart. Now, if I could only find a way to warm my fingers and toes…

      • Youre welcome. We do not have such severe weather here but it is still cold for this time of year, a shower of hailstones just passed over, and I feel like curling up in a cave. You’re entirely right about peace I think. Some of my best times have paradoxically been during the worst times. Life eh?Hope it warms up soon ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I will give you this; damp cold is far worse than the dry cold of my region. I was in Vancouver (similar in climate to Ireland) a few winters ago, and was shocked that although the temperature was warmer than home, the winter rain left me chilled through to the bone.
        Stay dry, and warm yourself ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

